Day Today

By Feathers14

Photography

Photography is an art that teaches people to see without a camera.

Today this saying finally made sense, again. It's a long and troublesome path I've trodden, with photography. Some ups like this and this and many, many downs like this one, this one's pretty bad, these two were tragic ad infinitum...

Anyways. Today: Wake up late as I had a lil hangover from yesterday (cos I'm a lightweight) and then I met Janey for a coffee, had a talk about the trip I'm taking to Uganda and found out that I got the project with Kris and The Bro, that I wanted and then went in to Leam to see Eve. She's feeling real crappy at the moment. I think hard work for exam revision has caught up and is taking its toll so I tried to help her get better by being an idiot and making her laugh. It's not long now, til she's finished.

Peace

-------

I like this photograph!!! It's been a while since I've liked a photo that I've blipped as much as I like this one. I like this one because I 'saw it' as opposed to taking a portrait for people in the moment (which is equally fun, I just find these shots more challenging thus more rewarding when I like them). It's minimalist (and it's been a long time since I've done a minimalist shot) and I love how it's symmetrical enough to give it order and regularity, but asymmetrical enough to make it interesting. I'm becoming very interested in architecture and design, particularly with entrances and doorways; the entrance is supposed to be the grand as it's an impression for what is to come with the rest of the building, so it's interesting to figure what a doorway says about the rest of the building.

The door on the right has a hanging basket (indicating a sense of pride in the home) but the step is need of some TLC/repair. The house on the left has a better looked after feel, save for the over-grown garden.

Is the photo very sharp? I shot at f7.1 but it still looks a little soft on my screen, any thoughts?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.