Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Indian summer

I remember that when I first heard this expression, I was still a child and thought it was very exciting and romantic. Today was a bit too hot for me!

Since we have cover on Wednesdays, I decided to have a quick trip to Wallington and test out my hip. Perhaps it would be better for a short, easy walk. It wasn't and I'm very grumpy about that.

However, I did enjoy all the flowers and trees and bushes in the gardens. My main blip is of purple loosestrife beside one of the lakes. I was inspired by an image by Nickyr the other day. I wanted to capture the heat as she had done.

The butterfly was a photobomber, but very welcome.

I did manage to go to the hot border beside the conservatory. They always grow red and yellow dahlias here and it seemed even hotter there than in the rest of the garden. Exposing for red in the sun is a challenge. I had to underexpose significantly to allow the texture in the petals to show. See extra.

At home, I lay down with an ice pack, took codeine and had a sleep. That was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.