curns' corner

By curns

Swing

At work, we spent half an hour hearing about the status of the forecasting project. It’s a relief to hear that it is progressing and that the models that they have selected are showing useful results on the sample data that we have collected. It, however, remains a frustration that I do not get to hear more about what’s going on. 

I skipped my Tai Chi class this week to take the train into London to The Betjeman Arms at London St Pancras station. On my way from the tube and out of King’s Cross I passed by the “birdcage” swing in, what I later learned was, Battle Bridge Place. It’s a piece of artwork by Jacques Rival called IFO (Identified Flying Object). The colours really stood out this evening and it’s nice to see the swing in use. I think this piece of work has been here since one of the light festivals but I always forget that it’s there.

I was meeting Frank, who had already arrived at the pub but the time I got there. We had a lovely evening catching-up. I don’t think I have seen him since a team event near the Grey’s Inn Road offices in the middle of last year. There was obviously much to catch-up on. 

We had a few pints but I managed to get back home by midnight, which is probably too late but, at least, means I can take the trains and I am not subjecting myself to some expensive taxi ride home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.