carliewired

By carliewired

64 F/ 18 C

Clearing in the west...
grateful for rain overnight...
 I'm in for the day

~carliewired

I was slow to launch this morning. It was already 9 when I backed the car out of the garage. I noted the pavement was wet. Any rain is welcome. 

I picked up my usual drive-thru breakfast so I could take my morning pill. I drove into McArthur Island's north entrance and further to the foot bridge. 

The slough is very low and stagnant. Ducks don't seem to mind. A group of nine very small ducks were performing like a synchronized swimming team. I could not identify them. Perhaps they are just passing through in migration. 

The star performer on the slough was the great blue heron. I watched it from the bridge as it crept along in slow motion. It moved in and around the water's edge and stepped lightly in the muddy patches. I missed its takeoff for the other side of the slough. 

I got my long shots of looking west into the slough and looking east across the playing fields to my mountains. I noted that the nets are all up in place on the playing fields. Will more deer get caught in them? 

I'm home working on some sewing projects. Today was the first camera jaunt that made me think my cranky feet might actually be improving. FIngers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.