An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Triple gold...

Slept really well last night and woke up at 7am (half an hour before my alarm) and decided to get up, as lots to do today.

After the recent clear out of my wardrobe it was time to organise what was left into some sort of order.  Two and a bit hours later and it was done.  Summer and winter stuff separated, a section for "going out" wear and everything grouped by colour.  I did this previously and it makes life much easier when deciding what to wear.  If I want a blue top I only have to look at one section rather than trawl through the lot :-)

Whilst I was in the wardrobe an alarm went off on my phone to remind me that something special was happening today...The Hearach, the first legal dram from the Isle of Harris, was going on sale today.  Eight batches that have been maturing quietly on the banks of West Loch Tarbert 

When we were in Harris last year we visited the Isle of Harris Distillery and got to taste the first draw of the whisky.  Jeezo!  That blew our socks off!
Of course my main interest in the distillery was the gin, but the story behind the distillery and the whisky captured my heart.  A real effort by the people of Harris to help young people of Harris find gainful employment on the island and keep their talents for the local good.  And what a success story it has been.

The whisky was available to buy online from 10am.  It was barely midday when I joined the queue on the website to purchase a bottle.  The first five batches had already sold out so our bottle is from Batch 6.  By early afternoon all eight batches had sold out.

Neither D or I are whisky drinkers but our brother-in-law Kenny is (he and Ele were with us on the tour of the distillery) and we normally buy him a bottle of whisky at Christmas, so this bottle will go to him.   So not only have I bought a bottle of whisky from the first release of the first legal dram from Harris, I've also bought my first Christmas pressie :-))

And talking of firsts, I made my first pot of soup of the autumn season, roasted vegetable soup.  First time making this one and it smells and tastes delicious.  I only had a couple of spoonfuls to check the seasoning but was tempted to have a full bowl, however this lot was made as a possible starter when the golf widows are here for dinner this Thursday, so it's destined for the freezer.

Once the soup was made I continued my marathon clear out by tackling the coat cupboard in the hall.  Got rid of two jackets, a Gillet, and a cardigan-coat.  D needs to go through his half as I am sure 90% of what he has in there could go.  But that's a task for when he returns from his golf trip, as today was spent getting all his golf gear cleaned and packed for the VERY early rise on Monday morning.

After dinner it was time for another fist of the the season...the first live show of Strictly Come Dancing.  That's when you know autumn really has arrived!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.