Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Little did we know

I left home just after 0800 and would have been horrified if I had known my arrival time would be 10pm instead of 6 pm.

Here we are boarding the plane. The last people to arrive, very late, were the same family who held up the check-in queue by half an hour. The poor young woman on the desk was clearly struggling.

When they boarded there was then some confusion about the number of bags they had checked in. This went on for another 20 minutes by which time we had lost our slot to depart.

Furthermore, Dublin was expecting Storm Agnes, so decided to reduce the planes arriving and leaving.

We were very hot and eventually we taxied to a far corner of the airfield where the engine could run to cool us down.

Eventually we flew. I’ve been on a few bumpy flights but never experienced the turbulence we had on the descent. Someone in the row in front was sick, then someone in the row behind. I have a strong stomach but even I felt a bit queasy after that.

It was blowing a hoodie at Dublin airport. I took a bus (a very slow express) to Dublin Heuston railway station. There was plenty of time to have a meal in the carvery (not great).

I was relieved that I could use my original ticket and that I found a seat on a very busy train. There was no refreshment car, but I had bought food and drink for the journey.

Vinny met me with a notice saying “Margie Bailey” on it. He turned out to be a taciturn Irish man. We gave a lift to someone else off the train.

All in all, it has been a challenging day but my hip wasn’t too bad!

Hoping that tomorrow will be different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.