carliewired

By carliewired

63 F/ 17 C

I have looked into
the eyes of a coyote...
and I am humbled

~carliewired

I was up at 6:30 pushing my bins out to the curb for collection. It's a grey and wet morning so I dawdled. Mornings have to start later for me now that summer is over. 

At 8 AM I drove off towards Tranquille. I was on the lookout for big horned sheep but the very long freight train blocked their usual path along the hillsides. 

I stopped for a look at the wetlands pond. There was lots going on there today. That small flock of pelicans is still there churning up the water. I have no idea what they would be finding to eat there. I'm surprised they haven't continued on their migration south. 

I got a quick shot of the Rocky Mountaineer railway heading south/west on the Canadian National rail line. One day I may take that trip myself. 

I must have startled a doe and her two young ones, as I caught them bounding away at the edge of the pond. I had been so focused on the pelicans that I almost missed them. 

Canada geese are present in the hay fields near the pond. They seem to be scouring the fields. It is odd to see them looking over the knolls with their long necks like periscopes. 

My surprise was finding a coyote hunting along the edge of the road near the farm. I could see him at a distance first, so I moved up to him slowly in my car. Wildlife doesn't seem to pay much attention to my hybrid. I think that's because it's so quiet. 

I watched the coyote try to catch a squirrel that suddenly bounced up. It missed and looked confused, then plodded along further. I drove along beside the coyote who looked a bit damp with our wet weather. I watched him turn to face me and I got a beautiful shot of its face. 

I turned around at the end of the road to catch my mountains draped in cloud. I took note of the autumn colours that have become so pronounced just in the last week. 

I stopped again by the wetlands pond to find an osprey perched in a tree watching the pond. I could see no activity by the usual nesting location so I had assumed the osprey had left. 

I picked up some breakfast and was home before 9:30. I'm in for the day getting some odd jobs completed. My cranky feet will get a rest today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.