Shades of Grey

It's a morning with
cloud and some wildfire smoke to
grey the light above

~carliewired

I unlocked the front door for the flooring installer just before 7:30. When I backed my car out of the garage minutes later, he was already parked in the driveway with his coffee. I waved and proceeded on my way to Mission Flats on the south shore. 

I picked up a very large coffee enroute and drove right to the end of the road. My panorama shows the view right out to the delta and Battle Bluff. I pulled onto the very dusty turnaround driving carefully over the dips. There was an abundance of birds all around. Most seemed to be starlings flitting through the bushes and trees. I caught a large group hanging over the river in a willow. Several birds I could not name were perched in a tree picking the berries. I looked around at the fall vegetation with slashes of red. Deer had left left their tracks in the dust. I found some 'river art' in the shallows near the shore.

On the return to the bridge I got a photo of my mountains looking across Rabbit Island. All looks sombre this morning. 

Halfway back to the bridge I saw police arriving on the river side of the road. One officer stepped out of his vehicle wearing a white hazmat suit zippered to the neck. I am wondering what awful thing has been found there this morning. I will check our local news today. 

I'm home for most of the today. Two quilts need bindings so my daughter can stitch them. I will have some errands to run in the afternoon. 

The forecast is for a mix of sun and cloud with a high of 25 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.