Chasing the Light

A September morn
with mist, haze and many birds 
preparing to leave

~carliewired

 I drove over to the Trans-Canada Highway on the south shore before 7. We are at the start of a long weekend with today being a statutory holiday for Truth and Reconciliation. I was surprised how busy the traffic was and I was happy to turn off onto LaFarge Road, then the much quieter Shuswap Road. 

My first photo was taken at the center of the bridge looking east over the South Thompson River. It's another hazy September morning. As I turned onto Shuswap Road I saw a hawk up on a power pole surveying the river. 

I kept watching for the sunrise and caught it coming up above a hayfield. I could look west to see the tops of my mountains. They looks so different from the backside. Mist was lying above the river and in the deepest parts of fields near the river. I found an eagle on the usual perch overlooking the river. Canada geese were occupying all the stubble fields near the river. They are gathering up to head south, often making all too much noise in the process. 

I stopped for the last time to see the sun coming into the silt bluffs on the north side of Shuswap Road. I seem to be chasing the light this morning. 

I headed home with my breakfast. This could be the last day for flooring. The baseboards will be the finishing touch but I'm not understanding when those come in. I can't really put the house back together until they're done. 

We have another beautiful sunny day coming on. We can expect a high of 26 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.