carliewired

By carliewired

64 F / 18 C

Today is for Truth
and Reconciliation, 
our past and future

~carliewired

I was late getting out the door. We have a holiday today and a long weekend. Our national radio, CBC, is covering the proceedings across Canada in respect of Truth and Reconciliation Day. It is a day to remember our First Nations peoples' contributions, their treatment in the past and to consider our future together. 

I drove to Tranquille, crossed the railway tracks, then proceeded up to the first landing on the Red Lake Road. I found it slippery in places due to the recent rain. My car slithered through the worst bits. 

I got my panorama of the river delta and the east end of Kamloops Lake. Then I drove back down the hill slowly and carefully to catch the view of the train tunnel at the side of Battle Bluff.

I stopped at the side of Tranquille River (really a creek by my standards) where I found salmon trying to move upstream. I got a poor shot of them in the rocky channel. 

Heading home, I stopped for a look across the field at one of the buildings for the former institution for the mentally handicapped. The buildings are long vacant and in poor condition. I took note of the broken fences now tangled with sagebrush in bloom. 

I stopped again to view Battle Bluff looking west and the wetlands pond looking southeast. 

My last stop was the drive-thru to pick up a late breakfast. The car in front of me sported an appropriate bumper sticker. I collected two orange sprinkle donuts in honour of this day. My daughter will have these with her tea. 

I'm home with no particular plans. There are some small jobs that may get my attention. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.