The Slough - McArthur Island Park

Once around the park
watching for deer and birds to 
spark my interest

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck just before 7 to catch that wonderful morning colour behind my mountains. By 7:30 I was on my way to McArthur Island with a brief stop for a very large coffee on the way. 

The colour changes are noticeable now. The heat we experienced has definitely stressed some of the trees and plants so they are changing quickly now. I parked beside the Butterfly Garden first and had a look around at the flowers. The hibiscus has been removed to the greenhouse to winter leaving a rather disappointing big rock in its stead. 

I walked onto the foot bridge to look into the north side of the slough. Mallard ducks were enjoying themselves there. I spotted one visiting bird that I think is some kind of a grebe. I cannot find my bird book in the chaos of my flooring install, so I will have to figure that out later. 

I moved the car over to the south side to walk to the east side of the slough. It adjoins the river and has drained out as the river level has receded. That portion of the slough is not much more than a mud bog. Some ducks seem to like it even now. 

My last photo was a look across the river to Rabbit Island and the south shore. There's a great deal of sand now exposed all along the river shore. The university's conference building features on the top of the hill and is reflected rather nicely in the river. 

I picked up some breakfast on my way home and will be running some errands this morning. Otherwise, I 'm in for the day with the flooring installation continuing. 

We can expect a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 28 C. I'll be wearing my summer clothes this afternoon! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.