Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ballinasloe Horse Fair

We spent most of today at the horse fair.

There was a large field in use, divided loosely into different sections. In the main the owners and horses just drifted around.

The main job of the day was for owners to sell their horses. I saw a few deals going down, all cash, but I was never quick enough to catch one in camera!

The place was buzzing, but I couldn’t help feel that some of the horses were sad looking.

I also saw nowhere for any of them to drink.

There were auctions of tack and other horsey things. The patter was marvellous. Most people were friendly and happy to be photographed.

I would love to show you more but I’m rapidly running out of extras.

Back at our hotel, the Ireland v Scotland match was on, with several screens in use.

We said goodbye to Chris, our leader, who will drive to Dublin early in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.