Everyday Life

By Julez

Caddisfly

We had a steady start to the day today. I had to email the funeral director a photo of my Dad to be used in the Order of Service leaflet. I sent them this one that I took just over a year ago. I can't believe how quickly things changed, mostly in the last six months.

When we went to the meeting with them I took another printed photo along of him on a motorbike as a young man to include also. There were a couple of technical hitches. His funeral plan has reference to a paid for burial plot and the funeral director also had evidence of my parents having bought a double burial plot, including how much they paid. However they have no details beyond that and there was no separate receipt or paperwork for it with the plan. She has also not been able to contact the vicar at the church in the village...

I'm not really sure why they chose the church. Neither of them are particularly religious. Tradition I suppose, and the graveyard. My Dad had a real fear of the idea of cremation...

Tomorrow Brian and I now have to go over to the bungalow and ransack it to find any paperwork that might relate to this burial plot. We will do sorting and clearing of the bungalow as we go. Jeri would like one of their large carthorse ornaments so we'll get one of those for her, and my Dad wanted his bowls friend Ken to have his set of bowls. I will contact Ken tomorrow too.

Once our business at the funeral directors' was done we went to nearby Lidl to get a few groceries then home for lunch (Home made mushroom soup for me. I made it last night and it was delicious then, but did not keep too well in the fridge unfortunately. The crusty bread I got to go with it was good though!)

After that we had a quick walk to find Blips then to Tesco for a few things we couldn't get, or forgot to to get at Lidl!


My blip is a strange insect called a Caddisfly. They lay eggs in the river, which sink to the bottom where they eventually hatch into larva. There are different types - some use camouflage to roam on the riverbed, others spin webs like an underwater spider and others live in tubelike burrows. I'm not sure what type this is. Once the larva has grown big enough they form a pupa and hibernate in order to develop wings, appendages, air-breathing gills and reproductive organs. When fully developed the pupa swims quickly and gracefully to the surface to avoid being eaten by fish, then burst out of their casing, fluttering on the surface to dry their wings. Off they go then to their new life as a strong-flying insect, mostly active in afternoon and evening. They mate and begin the whole process again. They are very popular for use as bait by anglers apparently!


I'm sure you all really wanted to know all that, didn't you? You're welcome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.