The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The private trout farm

GG and I went for a walk this morning, after I'd started defrosting the second freezer, ordering a new (white)  freezer with a door alarm, and arranging for the 2001 model to be taken away at the same time. 

We went to Crqnham, near Painswick, not an area I know well. I was on the lookout for autumn colours and wide open spaces. We were not disappointed. 
Sometimes I follow a suggested a walk from a series of booklets by a local person called RR Gordon. They are supposed to start and finish at a pub. At this village, the pub was closed (but the villagers are going to buy it and reopen it) but we set off happily and had a wonderful walk, apart from the getting-lost part , which is mandatory. Skiing down a clay stream bed was not fun, but eventually we did come to the unusual sight of a house with its own private trout farm and lake, and from there the driveway took us back to the near the start of our walk. 

We had a coffee in Painswick, and then headed back to Stroud, where I got on with the freezer business, and then retired to bed for a sleep, because I accidentally stayed up very late last night, researching freezer models. 

Later, I made anothet fish soup, courtesy of the freezer contents, and started stewing up so some apples and cranberries for ....something? Adding to porridge? Making into a crumble? I'll decide tomorrow. 

It's been a wonderful experience to have two consecutive walks, both in good weather, the same weekend. Makes up for all the faffing around with freezers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.