Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bidding a fond farewell to Scotland (prolonged)

It was a sunny, windless morning. Several photographers packed their cars and then headed into the woods to make more images.

I packed up, made sure that we had complied with the requirements to strip beds, wash dishes and leave the place in order. I was relieved when I opened the cooker and found the baking tray that had been used for sausages. We could have been charged an extra £15 if I had not seen it!

The morning part of the journey was lovely. I drove to Aberfeldy to avoid the Dunkeld hold up on the A9. Then the satnav took me towards Edinburgh. I had gone north on the west so I was happy to go south on the east.

BAD MOVE! The traffic heading towards the city was tailed back for miles. There had been a breakdown on the bypass. Once on the bypass, it was no better. I was soon over an hour delayed.

I left the bypass and tried to drive on a parallel road but it was stuffed full of cars. Eventually I returned to the bypass where the traffic was flowing again.

I arrived home just before 5pm after 7.5 hours on the road. Ghastly.

There was just time to throw a meal together for us both and then drove to the Tynedale Photo Group for our meeting.

I plan on having a very quiet day tomorrow........!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.