Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Impenetrable

Today was a waiting game. Would the date for my proposed operation be finally approved?

As the day went on, I thought I was in a Kafkaesque trap!  

The Admissions Team were still waiting for a confirmation email from the NHS to say I could have the op. (I'm an NHS patient at a private hospital which adds layers of complications.) It turns out that a different department in the private hospital had rejected the referral (days ago?) and returned it to the NHS. (How does the patient ever know?)

I was told that I would have to go for an initial referral through the NHS again in the system I was referred to in May - that's the one that has not contacted me at all!

At this point, I had had enough and cried. I cried on the phone. That provoked a response.

I will have my pre-op assessment tomorrow, but with no guarantee that surgery will go ahead.

I have contacted the doctor who heads the team responsible for the NHS care pathway and await her response. At the moment no one knows where the referral is. The surgery has now sent at least 4 referrals when requested.

HH had a bad day, predictably.

Watch this space.

Consoling myself by watching Nordic Murders on Channel Four!

It is not the end of the world. I think it will be sorted out one way or another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.