Capital adventures

By marchmont

Almost the last day

I was up during the night as the boiler (I think) kept kicking in.  Eventually I put the heating on to stop the irritation.  It was very cold.

Outside there was snow and I nearly didn't go swimming but I needed breakfast food so off I trotted, breaking a windscreen wiper on the way, and it was worth it.  The pool was very, very quiet. 

Home to receive a message from E who has had worrying news and our pizza exploration will have to be postponed.  Then wrapped the box that arrived last night and took it next door, at a decent hour.  Then to work.  Finished off some handover stuff and then a typical long meeting led by S.  She is very, very thorough but I sometimes feel it is overkill.  But I have learned a lot.

Signed off and then out in the cold to examine the wiper which was well and truly broken so up to Straiton where I got a replacement very quickly. Then to M&S to buy stuff for the weekend.  I've either got too much or too little. 

Back home I had some lunch (well after 3) then started to research a house insurance policy as Tesco will no longer cover my jaunts, even though the house will be inhabited.  It is madness.  In the middle of both calls the promised call back from HMRC was trying to get through, of course it was. And A, the plumber, did not show.  He is becoming an optional extra.

I feel less stressed.  Next week is focussed on getting ready to go  and at the moment it looks a bit more achievable.  2 parcels have arrived and 2 are not yet dispatched.  Fingers crossed. 

I finished the latest (last?) cross stitch on Tuesday.  I started it over a year ago but fitting I complete it the week '5 go mad in a hot tub in Fife'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.