A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Saltaire Advent Windows.

Another must on my Christmas list.

Didn’t think I’d make it this week as the weather has been atrocious with Storm Pia throwing 60-70 mph winds at us over night and heavy rain for much of the day.

The weather improved slightly, less wind and no rain by late afternoon when it was turning dark so we decided to give it a go. We didn’t see them all but saw a good selection around the main streets in the village. The wind was still strong enough to be blowing wheelie bins into the road and sending cardboard boxes flying across the streets.

This one is across Saltaire Rd at the Almshouses. I did a closer one but liked the architecture of the surrounding building included in this. It appeals to me because it features singers and we were singing in the Saltaire UR Church just over a week ago.

We did have a break for a drink at ‘.don’t tell Titus’ -  the joke is Sir Titus Salt did not allow a pub to be built in his village - they had mulled wine tonight Wendles! and I was tempted to have some Halloumi Fries with a spicy dip.

The extra shows a few more that I really liked, especially the tribute to the much lamented Sycamore Gap tree on Hadrian’s Wall. I’ll add them to my Advent Flickr album. I noticed a couple on Wilsden Walkers blip yesterday that we missed but never mind, glad we made the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.