Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A landmark day

Yes, it is New Years Day, which always feels like a landmark at the beginning of the New Year. Today was a personal landmark because I was able to walk for a mile. That felt good.

I met a few dog walkers, but the found that the quiet back road to Haughton Castle was busy. A car stopped and it was Tory and her husband, Will. Tory was my brilliant secretary back in the day, 23 years ago.

Here was the clue, there was a New Year’s Day hunt from the castle. Soon another car stopped and the driver was Verity, a photographer I know.

Every time a car came I had to step into the thick layer of wet leaves at the verge, so I gave up and retraced my footsteps.

I am no fan of hunting, but it is still very much a way of life for some people in the area.

I had the phone set for the one mile and had to divert along a cul-de-sac to make sure I had walked the full distance.

Margret (next door) came to wish us a Happy New Year. Otherwise it has been very quiet here.

I cooked a meal for us and managed to load the dishwasher too.

It’s all progress.

I had no suitable image from my walk, so here is one of the rich coloured lilies from a Christmas bouquet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.