Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another cracking day in the capital

My intention was to go to the Hunterian Museum this morning, but I spent far too long taking pictures and talking to people in the Caledonian Road, on my way to Kings Cross. The Cally has a large mixture of different shops in addition to the usual high street. I was particularly taken with the Wrought Iron Shop! I found a tiny shop for mobile phones and laptops. Here I was able to buy a "new" charger for my very old Nokia.

There was no time for any museum visits, just a dash on the tube to the South Bank. In the Lyttleton Theatre I saw Eugene O'Neill's Strange Interlude. The play was cut to 3+ hours from the original nine acts.

The sets in the National Theatre staging are superb. I was less sure about the production which was melodramatic and times and verging on farce. It's a very difficult play because the actors frequently let us know what they are thinking in the middle of normal speech to each other. Sitting next to me was a man from Washington, a keen student of O'Neill who could tell me about other productions. We both agreed that the second half was better than the first. Well worth seeing.

London is heaving with tourists. It's good to see so many young people and families on the streets. I had lots of potential blips from today, but at 6.30pm I was watching Tom Bradby prepare to give a live commentary from the Houses of Parliament. He looked quite nervous beforehand, but then switched to professional mode for the piece. Here you see the sound man, mobile glued to his ear for instructions from the newsroom and the camera equipment to the right. Tom is even more handsome than on TV.

Back in time to see last few games of Federer's match. What an odd and exciting Wimbledon.

PS Have heard news of Supreme Court ruling today. Very pleased by the outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.