Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

All aboard!

My train journey began in Hexham at 0845 for a leisurely ride to Newcastle, then on the East Coast line to Kings Cross. We were delayed by 40 minutes due to some equipment failure near York - the guard was careful to point out that it was Network Rail's responsibility to sort this out!

Unsure what to do this afternoon, I spent time in the newly refurbished Kings Cross and St Pancras stations. Near to Left Luggage I spotted a stream of children rushing to catch the train to Hogwarts School. This girl flew through the air - the 1/15 sec exposure worked well - but I needed to add a touch of radial blur to the trolley to extend the effect.

I was intrigued by Paul Day's statue of the kissing couple, called The Meeting Place. It is 9 metres tall. At the base there are a series of complex mini sculptures that bear close examination.

Then to the British Library for a thought provoking exhibition about Propaganda. This covers all sorts of ideas about how to change peoples' ideas and behaviour, including a section on how nations present themselves through sporting prowess.

On to my bright room near Kings Cross where I'm lodging with Gail for 4 nights. Dinner in the bar of the Rotunda at the Kings Space.

A good start to my London visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.