A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Leap day!

One of Grace’s friend’s daughter is 4 today her first proper birthday, the 29th of February is a pretty special day so why not do two walks?

The usual early walk with the Ladies was fine and dry and as I left the house at 6.55am it was light!

There is a definite separation of the swan and pen from the juveniles on Coppice Pond so it’s that time of year again. I chose to feed the outcasts and noticed some new Greylag Geese, they were very quickly targeted for the ‘chase away’ treatment by the male swan. The Canada geese have more or less given up on trying to breed here.

Lots of Canada and Greylag geese on the Leeds Liverpool canal where Chris and headed after I’d had my breakfast and shower. 
We parked in Bingley and took the bus towards Keighley getting off at Swine Lane to walk back along the canal. (We would have gone a bit further had I not already walked)

I chose my first shot as my blip as I liked the daffs at the side of the water but just a little further along we saw the first geese - extra - there was also a pair of swans and a couple of Goosander/Merganser males and a female.

Arrived at the Five Rise Locks as a couple of craft were just completing there assent so we had to wait for the bridge to reopen  to access the cafe. It was pretty busy but we got a table to have our coffee, as we were leaving there were people waiting for our table.

It felt a good bit cooler when we left to complete our walk I think the wind had increased.

Last day of February which is great but not the end of winter as there is snow in the forecast for tomorrow!

The little dog with a stick preceded us across the bridge despite its owner calling him to come back! Cute - extra 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.