The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Reference shot

Tired
Bone-weary
Looking for a mug with a lid
stop drinks going cold 
Clicked to order a ridiculous device

Stumbled to the cafe
My customer cancelled me
The world 's wives stopped to chat
I couldn't remember their names 

Food was filling ,cooks were willing
I emptied my plate 
Ran to town dodging April rain
Bought some boots 
In a closing down shoestore

Cruised the shops
Second hand sparkles 
For the queen of glitz 
Caught my eye 

Still needed more
From the first hand store
So I snapped some packages 
Swore I'd come back next day
With the means to pay 

Walked home, feet dragging 
Ordered a mug with a lid
Clicked to cancel ridiculous device
Wondered what was tiring me
What was sapping my strength 
That even a Friday,
A sunny free Friday,
That Friday  failed to fix

(That's enough of the free verse - Ed)

Truly I can't remember ever feeling so tired while remaining upright

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.