The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

King Arthur is fit!

In the picture I took, if you tap on the photo, King Arthur spins round. Maybe I shot a video by mistake. Lately I feel not so much that I'm turning into my mother as my grandmother, though I can't quite picture her at this circus!

V and I got last minute tickets to Gifford's circus - someone else couldn't go and wanted a small contribution in return - so we whizzed off to Fennels farm, the circus' home near Bisley. They start their run up there, and then go touring until October. They'll be on the road by Sunday. I loved some of the acts, including  King Arthur and Morgana who was a hula hooper, but there was not much of an Avalon story, just the costumes and the sword in the stone, and there were No Horses (one Shetland pony act) and Tweedie the clown is taking a year off, so there was a Merlin figure who held it together and a new clown, a person of restricted growth, who was funny, but a lot of the jokes were on him. Of course I didn't see any of this to V, because she has never been to Gifford's circus before, and in these parts it's an institution. She was amazed and stunned by it all. 

Earlier in the day I'd been to another show (!) in Cheltenham with D. This was the stage version of Sleuth by Anthony Shaffer. It's a two-hander. You may remember the famous film of the same name, starring Michael cainw and Laurence Olivier. I certainly do. The production was , to my mind, flawless, and we've now booked to see Cluedo 2 at the same theatre, in July
It's based on the famous game. 

In the morning, also managed to teach S how to make garden pea and garlic soup. His face has assumed normal proportions, but I think he is still on a restricted diet. He did mention the gym: I thought he was not supposed to be doing any heavy lifting! Thank goodness he is not my actual son. I'd worry a lot more a bout him if he was.
 


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.