Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A work of art

Today is World Curlew Day and I went on a walk in the North Pennines with the Allen Valleys Wildlife Group.

I learned that in the seventh century, Saint Beuno is known to have blessed the curlew after it rescued his book of sermons, filled with years of his work, after he accidentally dropped it into the sea.

We were each given a Beuno chocolate bar to celebrate!

Early in the walk we saw this exquisite nest blowing in the breeze. I’m not sure if this is a goldcrest’s or a goldfinch’s nest. Perhaps someone here will know.

We saw both curlew and lapwing high on the moors, not many. They are sitting on nests. Lapwing chicks were a delight to see. I didn’t have a very long lens with me, so no photos.

The walk was slow with lots of interesting chat. In my extra you can see Jos and two of her grandchildren. What a delight to have then along! Jos’ husband, Bob, has recently had a cochlear implant. It was turned on this week and he has already heard birdsong. Amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.