Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

CHANGEABLE WEATHER

My son in laws parents Ros and Tony are holidaying in the area this week.  They live in Leicestershire and travelled up to Carlisle on Monday.  Then they moved on to stay in Hexham and today they were driving to Newcastle to stay in The Malmaison Hotel on the Quayside. They invited me to meet up today at 1pm and I suggested the Staiths Cafe in Dunston which overlooks the River Tyne. 

I got a bus to Dunston and started walking to the cafe.  Its quite a long walk but the weather was lovely.  Then all of a sudden the sky went dark and there was a hailstorm.  In seconds the path was covered in tiny balls of hail.  It was a bit tricky to walk as I wasn't wearing suitable footwear and I was slipping around on the hail.  I had my brolly but it kept blowing inside out.  I was glad when I finally reached the cafe.

The place was busy and we got the last seats.  We all had a snack and a good catch up.  We haven't seen each other for a few years.  Then we had a bit of a wander along by the river.  The weather was OK by then - dry and bright but there was a chill wind.  I've added a couple of Extras of me and Ros & Tony.   Then they gave me a lift to Aldi so I could do a bit of shopping before getting a bus home ... and they headed for their hotel in Newcastle.,  They are staying for a couple of nights.  They have in mind looking round the centre of Newcastle and having a trip out to the coast - probably Tynemouth. 

Steps today - 10,253

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.