Truck Driver

Today was another very busy day on Ken's property.

I got up at 5am when I heard Ken's alarm and sat with him drinking tea and chatting till around 6am when it was light enough to rug up and go for a walk to check on the cattle. It was another bitterly cold morning with the temprature hovering around 0deg/c. Don't laugh! I was a bit stiff and sore after my big off on the bike, not to mention just a bit hung over. The walk was great to blow the cobwebs away.

Jassy had a ball and even went for a swim in one of Ken's dams while trying to ambush some ducks. Hello! That must have been cold.

Late morning we fired up the truck and moved cattle from one property to the other. I somehow ended up splattered with cows poo without noticing how it happened. All part of the job though. The only sour note was me taking a corner a bit fast in the truck with a full load of cattle. I think it was a bit close to rolling. Thankfully there was nothing coming towards us because I needed all the road to gather it up.

Home now after a 3 hour drive. Again I am bushed but after this I will walk Jassy. Poor thing. After a weekend on the farm she will be feeling a bit ripped off going for a walk with me.

We'll just have to go back again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.