2500

So a couple of months back when I realised how close I was getting to 2500 blips I started struggling over something special I could shoot to mark it. It was quite a big challenge coming up with an idea, but after some thought on teh matter I came up with the idea of dancers, since I've shot loafds of them over the last few years, making the numbers to make up 2500.

The more I thought about it the more I decided in terms of getting the timings bang on without taking hundreds of shots to get there it would be far easier to get one dancer and shoot it all in the studio then Photoshop it all together. I got in touch with Christina a couple of weeka ago to chat through teh idea and see whether she was up for helping out and if she thought it was feasible, She was and she did so it was on with the planning.

Unfortunately it was also around then that I realised that my 2500th blip would fall on a Sunday so getting in to shoot in the studio at work was a non-starter. We decided to try and shoot it in Queensferry. That way we could get the Forth Bridge, another feature of my blips over the past 2500 days into the shot. Hell If I could just have got some cats, Optimo, Chloe and me feeling ill in there somehow it would pretty much have been my entire 2500 blips condensed into one shot!

Jokes aside though, while I could probably have got better contrast and made the 2500 slightly more obvious shooting in the studio I think I prefer it this way. The studio would have involved more manipulation and positioning whereas this one just onvolved locking the camera off on a tripod and taking the shots (a few more than four admittedly).

A big thankyou to everyone at blipfoto for building and maintaining the site, my family for their patience with my obsession and everyone who's taken the time to look at any of my blips over the last few years, and also a massive thankyou to Christina, an enormously talented dancer for agreeing to give the ide a try. Here's to the next 2500 with the pressure off a wee bit again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.