Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Punjabi Wedding

Well! I don't often get to experience my real culture so closely first hand. I had a small dose of it this evening in the form of a wedding. My father was friends/grew up with the groom's father so that's how I was there.

The groom's family live in London, the bride's family in Lahore and they decided to get married in Dubai! Had a great evening enjoying a new experience. I am ashamed how unfamiliar I am with some of these customs, having grown up in Dubai and only visited Pakistan twice since 1968! Bad, I know. Parts of the wedding were decidedly Western (Top table, speeches), others definitely Pakistani. The thing that really touched me was the groom's father being part of a group of dancers who led him into the reception hall. So amazing. My Dad wouldn't have done that. What made it even more special is that both bride, groom and their families are committed Christians.

It is late and I am tired so I'll stop there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.