Much Needed

What to say about today?
Swimming. Late again as the Little Misses wouldn't get dressed, wouldn't stop watching Tinkerbell, wouldn't clean their teeth, wouldn't get in the car.
As a special treat last night I let them get into my bed and watch Tinkerbell and - hopefully - fall asleep. They watched it twice and were still awake at 9.30pm.
I went in once and found them covered in No7 night cream. Annoying.
I went in again and found my bed, the floor, them, completely covered in glitter. Very annoying. Won't be doing that again.
After swimming we went to school to get some uniform for the Little Misses. I went up to the second hand room and found a blazer for Miss E (result as they cost £85 (I know!!!) and they only wear it a handful of times for photos and outings), an art overall, PE shirt, jogging bottoms and a jumper. Woohoo, saved me a fortune!
I tried all Miss E's old uniform on Miss L yesterday. She looks so sweet. I can't believe she's going into uniform already.
After school we went to Mrs A's house and played with Miss H and Mr S. We haven't seen many school people over the holidays so it was nice to catch up.
From there the day took a pretty steep downward turn.
Miss E hit Miss L in the car and I said she'd lost her remaining marbles. She went absolutely loopy. A proper meltdown. Screaming, kicking my seat, pulling my hair through the seat and wailing completely incoherently "I wah my marhles" at the top of her voice. I have honestly never seen or heard anything like it.
I kept calm and kept asking her to calm down.
She kept it up for the entire fifteen minute journey home.
And in the house.
Getting worse.
I was actually starting to panic wondering what to do to stop her.
I remember Mrs S saying that her mum used to put her brother in the shower so I tried that.
Oh dear.
It changed the screams into "I'm soaking wet!"
She wouldn't let me dry her or take her clothes off. She was screaming about being soaking wet and wanting to keep her top on at the same time.
For the first time in my short career as a Mummy I was at a total loss.
I rang Mr K and he managed to get her to at least stop acting so incoherently.
Eventually I got her clothes off and got her wrapped in a towel.
I didn't speak to her, just put on Octonauts, got her into her jim-jams, gave her some toast, read her a book and sent her to bed.
Anyone who thinks I should have just sent her to bed is welcome to try.....
Miss L, bless her, went to the bed from the car. She'd managed to fall asleep during the onslaught.
Then I made cauliflower curry and sat down with a beer.
And wished I had an easier child.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.