RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

La Ropa Crocodile

While this is not a fantastic photo of the Playa La Ropa crocodiles (I like the one I captured at Playa Linda better) it is significant because of what is not shown. The fence that once separated these beasts from the tranquil sands of La Ropa was destroyed by the recent storm. Prior to this event, this shot would have been taken through chain link. This capture was accomplished with about eight meters of open water the only thing between the crocodile and me. True, the croc didn't seem all that interested in what was happening on the sand, but he was aware enough to show his teeth to the small crowd of onlookers (I made certain there was at least one I could outrun in case he turned our way). After a leisurely cruise around the perimeter, he headed back into the mangroves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.