Pairing Up

Regular visitors to my blips will probably realise by now that I'm slightly obsessed with the Crested Grebes that make their home on the Kaituna River.

Passing by the bridge today, I finally saw the breeding pair that have been further down the river for the last few weeks. I'm keeping an eye out for the chicks riding on their mother's back - shouldn't be too far away now.

It seems the grebes aren't the only ones making plans for a family in this reach of the river; there's a pair of pied shags who seem to have set up home in one of the low willows on the river bank. I might have to perfect my field craft so I can sneak up on them for a blip one day soon...

I'm hoping to head out on the rail trail again tomorrow. Fingers crossed for more kotuku spotting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.