Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

What does the future hold for Neetu?

She was in a typical 12 year old's rush to catch the school bus, but Neetu agreed to have her photograph taken before she left. She travels from Orchha to Jhansi to High School.

Last night I helped her with her English homework. She had a huge amount to do and all the questions from the workbook had to be laboriously written in her notebook before she answered them. With no internet access and not even a dictionary, she is at a disadvantage compared to some of her classmates, but she does have regular visitors like me to help.

There is a sadness and poignancy about Neetu and she showed me the photograph of her mother who died last year. On the other hand, she is an intelligent girl, who works diligently and who already speaks good English. I wonder what the future holds for her? Will she have the chance of a career or will she be married early? She may well be needed to help look after her father and raise her brothers.

I'm planning to send a dictionary her way as soon as I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.