Skip's Blips

By Skip

Farewell Phoenix

My short visit to Arizona over, it was time to head back to Ohio. Before my daughter drove me to the airport, I walked on the grounds outside my hotel and grabbed another iconic desert blip. I sure won't be blipping these things back in Ohio! The tall building in the background is the Mayo Clinic. Many long-term patients taking treatments at the Clinic stay at this hotel where they are treated with kindness. Observing them in the breakfast room reminded me to give thanks every day for my health and for the opportunity I have to get out and about with my camera.

The trip home was tiring with a little bit of unplanned excitement when the pilot had to abort the landing at Midway in Chicago and make a second go-around. He announced that he thought the second time would work, but if not, we might have to land in St. Louis. However, to the applause of the passengers, he made a successful, if rough, landing on the second try. The problem was weather-related. I'm not the happiest flyer at any time, so I was exhausted when we finally (after a scheduled layover and change of planes in Chicago) made it to Cleveland. It was a long day, but ended well. I will miss my family in Arizona, but it's good to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.