Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Gothic revival?

After last night's great storm it was a relief when the winds died down today and the sun appeared. I went for a walk in the village - bitterly cold - but lovely to watch the light as the sun dipped down and the warm, late rays bathed the trees and fields. I thought you would be seeing a landscape tonight.

I popped into the graveyard and then St Peter's Church. This is one of the Greenwich Hospital churches built in this area and populated by rectors who had been naval chaplains. Some settled to the life of rural Northumberland and others did not.

I have never really looked closely at the stained glass window over the altar before. The light was quite good and this is a hand held image. Whilst in Rajasthan I was encouraged to look at the symmetry of the architecture. Behind the Bible scenes you can see a set of Gothic looking buildings and a lot of intricate patterns.

I looked up the glass makers who were Clayton and Bell.

Here's hoping that this storm dies down quickly so that there is no more serious damage or loss of life. My friends on Stronsay have experienced severe gales at the time of high winter tides and some houses are flooded there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.