Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day in Vienna

This is my 3rd go at publishing today's blip. Twice, I have completed my diary and the page has just disppeard. Here we go again.

I've had a brilliant day in Vienna. I travelled part way around the Inner Ring by tram to see many of the wonderful buildings. Then I was in the Radthus Christmas market which was very happy, but full of mass produced cheap goods at high prices!

I sampled various Viennese delicacies.

This blip is from St Stephen's cathedral where I ascended the tower for great views of the city and beyond, by lift I hasten to add. The image is from the bottom of the wonderfully carved pulpit and is said to be the sculptor. Around the main part he has carved St Ambrose, St Gregory the great, St Jerome and St Augustine of Hippo, all early doctors of the church.

Then to an interactive photography exhibition that involved borrowing a new Olympus camera and taking pics. It's hard to describe the range of things available but they included a room with a magical display of red LED lights that twinkled and glittered, a room where plastic lips gave us each a gruesome visage, a room where human movement created graphics and music, a 3d metal sculpture that created amazing reflections and patterns. I had a blast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.