IN PARK FRANKENDAEL

in Amsterdam where I walked with friend Cor.
A day out in Amsterdam with changing decors. I took the light rail and the train to Amsterdam, where Cor stood waiting at the station.
The plan was to undergo the Christmas atmosphere walking through the city.
The Damrak had several blockhuts, but in the morning it had still a deserted look. Then in the Nes we entered the bank of loaning, where an auction would take place soon, Gold and silver ornaments were displayed for persons to preview.
Thereafter a long walk crossing several bridges over the canals.
Back to the station, with the ferry over the IJ, driving to the bus station that brought us to the Park Frankendael. Before we entered the park we visited the Intra Tuin gardencenter at the other side of the road. Amazing amounts of trees, lights, and all kinds of Christmas decorations.
In the park it was quiet, we walked on the paths around, there is an old country house, now a restaurant and a big church building, a pond with waterbirds, and my blipfoto!
We walked back to the center where at several places were interesting and astonishing light installations. A delight to admire these.
Our day ended in the traditional Thai restaurant in Noord, and from there I took the ferry, the train and the lightrail back home. A real pleasant day.
It had been cold, but with the sunshine it was fine with me.

My haiku:

After the bustle
Of the city the quietness
Of the park and reverse

And the proverb:

Gij moogt hem/haar doen spreken, maar kunt hem/haar niet doen zwijgen.

Translation: You can make him/her speak, but can not make him/her be silent.

As it is late now, and I am tired, but happy to put my picture on blip, I'll have to catch up tomorrow and I'll do that with pleasure.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.