Capital adventures

By marchmont

Some days

Some days you just have to keep pinching yourself, am I really here, is this really me??

Started by getting dropped off at Richmond where H and I are the mainstays at London Scottish matches, today v Pontypridd. Who won, I wonder?

I wandered down to the Thames. The weather was good, a bit overcast but not the wind and rain of home. I had lunch in the 'Pitcher and Piano' before catching the train and then the bus to Bermondsey for a meeting with M about Christmas. We were making sure I have the answers to all the 'what ifs'. I do, I think, I hope.

It was after 4.30 by the time we finished so a car to Southwark Cathedral. It was a lot warmer than last year as N and I set up the marquee. Then we had a bit of a practice and I changed, into a dress.

The event - the Crisis Carol Concert. N and I had seats in the front row and suddenly I found myself shaking hands with Princess Alexandra, and with Jeremy Paxman across the aisle.

The Concert was lovely. Beautiful readings and carols and music. We read ' Wenceslas', Carol Ann Duffy's 2012 poem, two Scottish voices.

And then suddenly, at the end, I'm in a line up, shaking hands and talking to the Princess about how many volunteers we've recruited in Edinburgh. And across the room Jeremy Paxman is smiling at me. That's the 'pinch me' moment.

HRH is 77 on Christmas Day. She is a bit stooped but still very elegant. I watched her wedding on TV in 1963. And on the day Nelson Mandela went home we were in a building he opened in 2001 and using the Desmond Tutu room to store our goods and chattels.

I feel honoured and proud to be part of an organisation as amazing as Crisis. The members who spoke, sang and played tonight were inspirational.

Mince pies, red wine, a chat with colleagues and then a train to Gatwick. Home tomorrow and a hectic 9 days await.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.