62 Today

As has become a habit, we took The Mother down to Windermere to visit her favourite shop on my birthday

We made lunch our main meal of the day and all three of us chose the seafood platter in the restaurant at Lakeland. I even had a glass of Chilean Merlot AND a pudding! Oh, no! More pounds added to the waistline! Never mind, it was a very flavourful, well presented meal. The chef, Steven Doherty, became the first ever British person to become Head Chef of a Three-Michelin Star establishment.

This is the country's flagship store, but we remember the firm when they had trade stands at agricultural shows selling plastic bags !

I was so pleased that we had celebrated my birthday with a good meal because the day went downhill from there! The Mother felt ill and the rest of the afternoon was spent attending to her.

We stopped for a while at Waterhead to have a cup of tea and take a couple of quick shots to break our journey home. I would have liked a better one than this but, light was beginning to fade on a very grey day.

The Mother was a little better when I checked upon her later so I relaxed with a glass or two of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.