Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Garland of flowers and lichens

This morning Mum and I sallied forth to Hexham to pick up my prescription. We also did an Aldi shop. It's a nice easy supermarket to get around and the prices for fruit and veg are excellent. By the time we came home, we were both tired. Mum has not been out properly for 3 weeks and it showed. We both need to build up our strength again.

It was a lovely day so I went up to St Cuthbert's Church at Heavenfield. I did some inside photography of the old harmonium, but then chose this gravestone for my blip. Whenever I see this, I think that the garland should be around the dress of a young lady going to a ball. On second thoughts, a garland encrusted with lichens may not be so attractive. Lichens best seen large.

The lichens have covered so much of the gravestone that it is impossible to see who is remembered there. It looks like several members of the same family.

Now for a quiet night in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.