A time for everything

By turnx3

Misty morning by the river

Friday
Today was a "Red-letter day" - and that letter was "S" for sunshine! After seemingly endless grey skies which were really getting me down, we actually had some sunshine and blue skies today! When I first opened the shutters it was quite foggy, but by the time I had finished breakfast you could see the sun was trying to break through, so I decided to drive down to the river, thinking I might get some nice shots, but as I started to descend towards the river I immediately drove back into the fog, and down by the river it was so thick you could barely make out the other side of the river, so I decided to return home and go down a bit later. When I returned, towards 11 am, I headed to the Samois side of the river, and still the fog was hanging over the river, but as I walked it began to clear, and by the time I had walked a loop through the upper part of the village and back down to the river, the sun had won through and there were blue skies. Even the birds seemed cheerful about it, singing their songs from the trees and shrubs. I took several shots, but decided to go with this one with the sun shining on the buildings, while the mist still hangs above.
This afternoon I was at another opera afternoon, a Croossroads (English-speaking association) event. I had been to another one back in November, when we watched Pucchini's La Boheme. Today it was Mozart's Don Giovanni, from Opera North in Leeds. They are digital downloads through a site called Digital theatre. It was quite a different production, being set in the 1960's, and with a heavy emphasis on the humorous side of the plot. There were probably about 15 or 16 of us and the afternoon finished off with tea/coffee and dessert - an enjoyable afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.