Chao Phraya River

I love the river!
We have a fantastic view of it from our room and I never get bored of watching the barges and boats going to and fro.
And I love jumping on the river boats and zooming to where we want to go!
Today we had another leisurely day by the pool after our scrummy breakfast. I had nasi goreng this morning which reminded me of the breakfasts on the trains here when you go anywhere overnight. Nasi goreng with a fried egg on top. Delicious!
At 6pm we leapt into action and caught the boat up to the Oriental. What a stunning hotel! I wore my Strictly dress and we had cocktails on the terrace waiting for Mr M who had driven up to Bangkok to have dinner with us. It was so beautiful - the lights in the trees, the music, the noise from the river, enormous olives, a delicious mojito. Perfect!
Then - because we're that posh - we caught the Oriental's shuttle boat to the Shangri La next door for dinner.
I ate too much at the all-you-can-eat buffet and practically had to be winched onto the boat back to our hotel.
And we had to do one or two turns round the grounds when we got back because the thought of lying down was not good!!
It was a lovely evening. So good to see Mr M - if a little weird to be in Bangkok and not Oxford!
Tomorrow's my last full day. I can't believe it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.