Anantara Gardens

Our last morning in Bangkok. I have a really annoying flight which meant I had to leave the hotel at 9am so no lounging by the pool this morning for me.
I woke up at 6am and couldn't get back to sleep so there was plenty of time for packing and a last scrummy breakfast. I had more room today so managed fruit, nasi goreng, tomatoes on toast, pots of peppermint tea and a bottle of sparkling Perrier. In keeping with tradition I took a pain au chocolat and chocolate muffin for the plane!
One last stroll around the garden, settling up our surprisingly reasonable room bill, a very quick goodbye to Miss T - it's too hard to drag it out, and then I jumped in a taxi to the airport.
I got there in plenty of time because I'd allowed two hours following the horrendous journey in from the airport last week. This morning, naturally the traffic was fine and I got there in forty five minutes!
Check-in took hours and security was as nerve wracking as ever (Miss T had mentioned how funny it would be to put Andrews into a freezer bag and stow it in my suitcase. Oh how I'd laugh!!!!)
I spent every last Baht I had - you can't have too many fridge magnets or keyrings! - and then I took myself off to Starbucks for my first cup of tea for a week. I curled up on their comfy sofa for a couple of hours reading my book.
Then it was time to sit on a plane for thirteen hours. Marvellous.

Backblip of our last day by the pool yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.