MONO MONDAY: Food!

My breakfast in Black & White, warmed up a bit. Greek yogurt, flax seed, oat bran, blueberries, 1/2 a banana and 1/2 a nectarine. See the color version here.

I'm so grateful that hobbs is continuing the mono monday challenge, read all about it here.

I've never been one for mono or black & white photos before because I just could not get them to look okay through my eyes, they were too flat. Others seemed to be able to do this, but for me it was difficult and so I avoided it. By forcing myself to pay attention to hobbs' photos (a good example here) and others on blipfoto like Miffy's photo today, I've been able to see some of what sets these successful looking mono photos in my eyes, apart. I have found that with practice it is getting easier for me to "do" black & white. Mind you at this point I am not taking black and white photos, but instead taking in color and then removing the saturation then playing around with the temperature and the light! But I am grateful for this expansion of my photo taking and I can see the 'merit of mono' now more than before. I am happy to get more practice at this because I probably would not set out to do it on my own if it were not for this challenge. Thank you Paladian & Hobbs!

There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.
~ Ansel Adams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.