Fantastic Miss Fox

I was uncharacteristically organised and bought Miss E's outfit for Book Week in November. Yes, three months ago!!
Year One always dress up as Roald Dahl characters so when I saw this outfit in the Autumn I thought how much stress it would save me to have a Fantastic Mr Fox costume safely tucked away in the cupboard.
It saved me a lot of stress until we got a letter last week saying they could dress up as whatever they like for Book Week but the school theme was pirates. Miss E was giddy - she loves her pirate costume! I was less giddy - I could have left it to the last minute as usual after all!
She was adamant she didn't want to wear the "Fox stuff" and I was equally adamant she at least try it on.
All this at 7.45am this morning - our first discussion on the subject!
She put it on whinging and complaining and trudged off to the bathroom to look at herself. She looked like she was about to walk the plank.
When she saw her tail and gave it a little swoosh she was sold!!
And, though I say so myself, she looked brilliant!
Miss L and I had a lovely day with Mrs L and Cousin T. We met in the park near their house for some bracing outdoor play. Then it was all back to the house to defrost, drink tea and eat lunch.
Mrs L happened to mention Miss L's swimming which was handy as I'd completely forgotten! In fact for a minute I was incapable of even remembering what day it was. Amazing how a week out of the routine makes you forget everything!
So it was home for swimming stuff, to swimming and then to school for Miss E's parent's evening.
She's doing really well with her literacy and maths, she's keen, loves to learn and is maturing in her relationships. Pretty good!
Ordinarily Mr K and I make an evening of it after parent's evening and carry on to the cinema and for dinner. Tonight my parents are inconveniently swanning around Suffolk in their campervan so we had to take the Little Misses with us.
And to add insult to injury Mr K carried on to meet the other Mr K and as I write they are watching rubbish Sci Fi at the cinema.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.