carliewired

By carliewired

À Bientôt, Roadrunners

Colours bright in patchwork
Quilts for comfort and support
Sisters of the cloth share and socialize
Bringing together patterns, ideas and passion
Spring's onset causes changes in location
The group will pause until fall comes full circle
Eager faces returning to start fresh
With colours bright in patchwork

~ carliewired

This morning I said my good-byes to the Roadrunners group. Dorothy came with a scrap quilt to donate and a 3D bowtie pattern for us. Barb arrived with a quilt top she's making for her own bed. Betty had some amazing adhesive strips that make a long ruler much easier to use when cutting fabric. We got to try out the ruler. Betty and Ann each donated a quilt for community purposes. I brought my camera!

D and I got lots done in preparation for our departure this weekend. I've sorted my paints and paintings, cleaned out spaces in the travel trailer and emptied cupboards. I filled three bags for donation to the local food bank. D organized the back of the pickup and started loading items there. Fabric will be left here for use next season. Only the sewing machine makes the return trip this year.

We dropped off the bags of grocery items on our way into town. D treated us to dinner at Red Lobster as a celebratory end-of-season dinner. While eating our meal D got a call from the optometrist from Mexico. She was driving into Yuma so would bring his glasses to him at the restaurant. In twenty minutes she was there and he now has his new glasses. What a relief!

I'm about to make an apple crisp for our lunch with our neighbours tomorrow. I better get peeling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.