Head for the hills!

Head for the hills, the paparazzi are here!

In my experience, turkeys are shy critters with no notion of posing for a photo op. Nine times out of ten, they turn their backs to me and head in the other direction. I snapped this picture when it was grey, gloomy, and late in the day, and this rafter of 12-15 turkeys was in a big hurry to get away from the blipper and her camera.

I was familiar with the term "flock of pigeons" and also "gaggle of geese", but recently I learned that a group of turkeys is called a rafter. Did you know that? The turkey is one of the largest birds in North America. It can grow up to four feet long from beak to tail. They prefer to eat insects, berries, grasses, and nuts. I guess that explains why I so often see them pecking at the ground.

It was cold and wet today, but, as always, it felt good to get out for a walk in the park. I am thankful that we have a wonderful park so close to home, and I am also thankful that I took my walk this afternoon. As I sit here in front of the computer, I can hear sleet tapping on the window, so tonight I am also thankful for my warm room! I hope you have had a good day, Blippers, and good morning to those of you who live way on the other side of the world. Have a good Friday!

For those who haven't had a chance to see my 50th anniversary backblips yet, they start here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.