In My World

By JoanneInOz

John and Raestelle

The most welcome rain showers during this week turned into a major downpour overnight, resulting in a flood warning for the Tweed River, making my garden way too wet to take a photo of the last of my frangipani flowers (sorry Sue!) but the Wise Weather Men have told us that tomorrow will not be as sodden as today, so look out for the frangipanis tomorrow!

Regardless of the rain, I went down to South Tweed Heads around midday to have lunch with my girls, Hayley and Emma, and when I arrived home this afternoon I had a message left on my phone....from John, Raestelle's husband, who would like to pass on his heartfelt thanks to the blip community for all of the messages and well wishes you have sent to them both since Estelle had a stroke nearly four weeks ago.

I phoned John and we had a lovely chat about this and that and he said to tell everyone that Estelle is improving more and more each day! She can write a bit now and has even been able to say a few words, although she is still struggling with her speech. They went for a walk along the Murray River today and Estelle took some photos, but she still isn't well enough to use the computer, so it's a little too soon for her to begin blipping again. John gave Estelle the phone so that I could say hello to her and she could manage to say "yes"....John says it is very frustrating for her (which I could pick up in her voice) but he is very hopeful that she will be speaking well again soon.

John and Estelle's son and daughter have both been visiting and have both now returned to their homes, but their son will be back with them for Easter.

I would like to give my own personal thanks to the blip community...you have all been so brilliant in the way you have responded to Estelle in her time of need! John believes that your mail, emails and phone calls have contributed greatly to Estelle's remarkable improvement!

As you can see, my latest feathered visitor to my garden was back again today...yes, I know I only blipped him yesterday, but today he and his mate were not quite so shy, and I spent a good five minutes watching them both demolishing the flowers on my grevillea tree, as I clicked away with my camera. Look at the pretty coloured tummy feathers! I think today's photo is even better than yesterdays!

But today, it's really all about our much loved friend, Estelle.

Happy weekend everyone. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.