Butterbur

We saw a lot of these when we were on the canal last week and they grow in profusion on the bank of a stream in our village. They like wet places. The flowers start to appear before the leaves which are rather like small rhubarb leaves. They were apparently used to wrap up butter, hence the name.

In the morning I took The Mother to see her friend's newly redecorated house, now that she's in again after a fire in December. It was lovely to see her settled back in.

This afternoon I worked around the house and garden. I had a lot of post-holiday washing of clothes and bedding to do but I took a few minutes off to get this shot on my way to the village shop.

If you take a look LARGE then you can see all the very pretty clusters of flowers on the spike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.