Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Success!

Over the years I have had limited success with bought roses. I always follow the advice but often the flowers just keel over after a day or so.

Our lovely friend Kate brought a bunch of yellow roses for Mum at Easter. They are doing magnificently and here is one to prove it.

A quiet day mainly in. Mum's infection is improving. The cough doesn't realise it needs to go now too! I met up with the walkers after their walk at the Boathouse in Warden. Last minute arrangements for the festival were in full swing.

Lots of phone calls tonight. I'm walking with Wild Rambling, run by my friend, Helen Venus, tomorrow and showing them pics in the evening. I'll be able to pop home and cook a meal in between.

The technical stuff: I wanted most of the rose to be sharply in focus but to create a softness around the edges. The problem was that the depth of field I needed for the centre also gave detail in the background, so I combined two images, one of which was taken at f3.5 and the other f16. I used a tripod and light from a lamp. I've corrected the white balance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.